5 new members take oath in Rajya Sabha


New Delhi, Nov 29 : Five new members ook oath on Monday in the Rajya Sabha as the winter session of Parliament begins. Three of the five members are from the DMK and one each is from the Congress and Trinamool Congress. All the newly new MPs took oath in their native languages. Rajni Patil, elected from Maharashtra on a Congress ticket, took oath in Marathi. Luizinho Falerio elected on the Trinamool Congress ticket from West Bengal took oath in Konkani as he hails from Goa. And the three DMK members took oath in Tamil. They are Kanimozhi N.V.N. Somu, M. Mohamed Abdulla and K.R.N. Rajesh Kumar. The House also paid tributes to the departed MPs Oscar Fernandes, who was a sitting member. Former MPs' -- K.B. Shanappa, Chandan Mitra, Hari Singh Nalwa, Monika Das Abani Roy and others who passed away in between the sessions, were also remembered. The House paid respects to the departed souls and as a mark of respect observed two-minute silence. The chairman directed the Secretary General to convey condolences to the bereaved families. The Rajya Sabha adjourned for one hour in memory of sitting Congress MP Oscar Fernandes who passed away recently due to illness. /IANS


54 drunk people let off in past fortnight in Bihar's Nalanda
Patna, April 25 : As many as 54 offenders, facing charges of alcohol consumption, were let off after paying penalty in Bihar's Nalanda in the past for

Teachers arrested in Andhra to foil protest at CMO
Vijayawada, April 25 : Andhra Pradesh Police on Monday arrested scores of teachers heading towards Amaravati and Vijayawada to foil their planned prot

Congress likely to meet today to decide PKs role
New Delhi, April 25 : The Congress interim chief Sonia Gandhi on Monday is likely to hold consultation with senior leaders on the role of political s