Pacer Shami returns to India squad for World T20

New Delhi, Feb 5 : Pacer Mohammed Shami has been included in India’s squad for the World Cup T20 commencing next month, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced here on Friday.

Shami hasn’t played for the country since the 2015 World Cup due to a knee injury. He was named in the limited-overs squads for the tour of Australia, but was withdrawn due to another injury.

Uncapped left-arm slow bowler Pawan Negi was also picked. He played for the now suspended Chennai Super Kings franchise in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and represents Delhi in the domestic circuit.

The same team would take on Sri Lanka in a three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka starting next week. India will take on hosts Bangladesh in their first match of the Asia Cup T20 tournament on February 24 against hosts in Mirpur.

Young batsman Manish Pandey, who impressed with a match-winning century in the third T20 against Australia recently, wasn’t named in the squad. Pacers Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ishant Sharma were also left out.

Batsman Ajinkya Rahane, injured during the One-Day series against Australia, was selected. The selectors also expectedly included star batsman Virat Kohli after resting him for the three-match T20 series against Sri Lanka.

The selectors also incorporated the experienced trio of Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh and Ashish Nehra to add depth.

World T20 hosts India are in Group B alongside New Zealand, Pakistan, Australia and a yet-to-be-decided qualifier in the premier tournament. Their World T20 campaign begins on March 15 against New Zealand.

They recently defeated Australia 3-0 in a three-match series Down Under last month to become the No.1 T20 team in the world.

India were the winners of the inaugural edition of the World T20 in 2007.

The India T20 squad for World T20 and Asia Cup: M.S. Dhoni (captain & wicketkeeper), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Harbhajan Singh, Mohammed Shami, Pawan Negi.


Leave a Reply