How can Ashwin even come in India s Asia Cup team? Kiran More

New Delhi, Aug 10 : Former chairman of the selection committee Kiran More has questioned the decision of including veteran spinner Ravichandran Ashwin in the 15-member Indian squad announced for the Asia Cup 2022 -- slated to begin from August 27 in the UAE. The BCCI picked two spinners and three spin-bowling all-rounders for the Asia Cup. The spin attack includes Yuzvendra Chahal, Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Ravindra Jadeja and Deepak Hooda. More said that he was taken aback by seeing Ashwin's name on the list. Speaking to Star Sports, he opined that India should have either picked an extra seamer in Mohammed Shami or a spinner in Axar Patel in place of Ashwin. "Even I was surprised. How can Ashwin even come in this team? And every time. Even in the last World Cup he was picked in the team, and then did not play. Look at his IPL record, it is not that good. I really felt Shami should have taken that role or Axar Patel. And Axar has performed very well. Shami is my player and he will go to the World Cup. I want wicket-taking bowlers. Shami can pick wickets with the new ball, in the middle overs and in the slog overs as well," he said. Ashwin's selection has time and again been questioned by experts. Earlier, former chairman of selectors Krishnamachari Srikkanth questioned his place in India's T20I squad. /IANS


Shane Watson appointed as Quetta Gladiators head coach
New Delhi, Dec 6 : Former Australia all-rounder Shane Watson has been named as head coach of Quetta Gladiators for the upcoming edition of the Pakista

Nagesh Trophy Uttarakhand defeats Maharashtra by 83 runs, Karnataka beats Delhi by 8 wickets
Dehradun, Dec 6 : Uttarakhand defeated Maharashtra by 83 runs while Karnataka beat Delhi by eight wickets on Wednesday here at the Doon Baluni Cricket

=?UTF 8?Q?ICC_and_CWI_on_two week_inspection_of_match?= =?UTF 8?Q?_venues_ahead_of_2024?= =?UTF 8?Q?_Men’s_T20_World_Cup?
St. John???s (Antigua), Dec 6 : A delegation consisting of representatives from the International Cricket Council (ICC) and Cricket West Indies (CWI)