BJP releases list 30 star campaigners for 1st phase of UP polls


[New Delhi: BJP National President JP Nadda, Home Minister Amit Shah, UP election in-charge Dharmendra Pradhan, Co-incharge Anurag Thakur, UP CM Yogi Adityanath, UP Dy CM's Keshav Prasad Maurya, Dinesh Sharma and its BJP state chief Swatantra Dev Singh with alliance party leaders, at BJP HQ in New Delhi, Wednesday, Jan. 19, 2022. ( /PTI] New Delhi, Jan 19 : The BJP on Wednesday released a list of 30 star campaigners for the first phase of Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah and Nitin Gadkari, Chief minister Yogi Adityanath, Uttar Pradesh BJP president Swatantra Dev Singh are named as the party's star campaigners for the first phase of Assembly polls in the state. Union Ministers Dharmendra Pradhan, Smriti Irani, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Sanjeev Balyan, General V.K. Singh, S.P. Singh Baghel, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti are also on the list of star campaigners for the first phase of Uttar Pradesh assembly polls. The BJP has also named Uttar Pradesh in-charge Radha Mohan Singh, both the deputy chief ministers of state - Keshav Prasad and Dr. Dinesh Sharma as it's star campaigners for first phase of state. Other names include Lok Sabha member Hema Malini, Jaswant Saini, Ashok Katariya, Surendra Nagar, Choudhary Bhupendra Singh, B.L. Verma, Rajveer Singh 'Raju Bhaiya', Kanta Kardam, Rajnikant Maheshwari, Mohit Beniwal, Dharmendra Kashyap, J.P.S. Rathore and Bhola Singh Khateek. The first phase polling will be held in 58 Assembly constituencies of Western part of Uttar Pradesh. The BJP has announced 109 candidates for 403 members of the UP Assembly. The BJP on Saturday released its first list of 107 candidates. Chief minister Yogi Adityanath will contest from Gorakhpur (Urban) Assembly constituency and deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya from the Sirathu Assembly seat in Prayagraj district. The BJP has denied tickets to 20 sitting MLAs in its first list. On Tuesday, the BJP had announced the name of two more candidates for Uttar Pradesh. Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls will be held in seven phases in February-March starting from February 10. Counting of votes will be held on March 10. /IANS


India courts support arbitration, need to balance geography: CJI
[**EDS: TO GO WITH STORY LGD6** Dortmund: Chief Justice of India NV Ramana addresses the annual meeting of Indo German Chamber of Commerce on the them

BJP names Draupadi Murmu as its Presidential candidate
[**EDS: HANDOUT PHOTO MADE AVAILABLE FROM BJP OFFICE ON TUESDAY, JUNE 21, 2022** New Delhi: BJP National President J.P. Nadda addresses a press confer

First India-Nepal Bharat Gaurav tourist train flagged off from Delhi
[**EDS: HANDOUT PHOTO MADE AVAILABLE FROM PIB ON TUESDAY, JUNE 21, 2022** New Delhi: Union Minister for Railways, Communications, Electronics and Info