Kuwait suspends direct flights with 9 African countries over new Covid-19 variant


Kuwait City, Nov 28 : Kuwait decided on Saturday to suspend direct flights with nine African countries over the new Covid-19 variant Omicron. Kuwait will suspend direct commercial flights with South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zambia, and Malawi, except for cargo planes, Kuwait's Center for Government Communication said. Kuwaiti citizens coming from those countries will be in quarantine for seven days starting from November 28, and they will be required to do a PCR test on arrival and another on the sixth day of arrival, Xinhua news agency reported. Meanwhile, non-Kuwaitis coming from those countries, whether they come directly or through other countries, will be barred from entry unless they stay in a third country for at least 14 days. Kuwait's government called on citizens to avoid travelling to those countries at present, except in case of necessity. /IANS


Health Ministry submits report on Covid-19 to Election Commission
New Delhi, Dec 27 : The Union Health Ministry on Monday submitted a report on the rising Covid cases along with the new variant Omicron and the status

Omicron will spike Covid cases 'much higher': Fauci
Washington, Dec 27 : Even as the Omicron variant rapidly spreads across the globe, cases of Covid-19 are likely going to keep surging, top US infectio

Covid clusters rising at Seoul's educational facilities
Seoul, Dec 27 : Covid-19 clusters have been on the rise at educational facilities in Seoul, the city government said on Monday. The Seoul govern