US to restrict travel from southern Africa amid new Covid variant scare


Washington, Nov 27 : US President Joe Biden has announced that the US will impose travel restrictions on eight African countries as a new variant of the coronavirus has been detected on the continent. As per advice from his chief medical adviser Anthony Fauci, Biden said on Friday that from Monday, his administration will restrict air travel from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi as a "precautionary" measure to prevent the newly discovered Omicron variant of coronavirus from spreading into the US. The administration was still gathering more information of the variant, according to Biden, who also urged Americans and people around the world to get vaccinated against the virus, Xinhua news agency reported. The announcement came on the heels of similar restrictions announced by other countries including Britain, Canada and France. The US restrictions do not apply to US citizens and lawful permanent residents, who nonetheless still need to show proof of negative test before entering the US, according to US media reports citing senior administration officials. /IANS


S.Korean airlines to impose record fuel surcharges on int'l routes
Seoul, May 16 : South Korean airlines are set to impose record fuel surcharges on international routes in June in the wake of soaring jet fuel prices,

Honduran police arrest drug lord wanted by US
Tegucigalpa, May 16 : The Honduran National Police announced that it has arrested Herlinda Bobadilla, leader of a drug trafficking group for whom the

Prez, VP & PM greet people of Sikkim on Statehood Day
New Delhi, May 16 : The President, Vice President and Prime Minister on Monday greeted the people of Sikkim on their 'Statehood Day'. President