Merv Hughes inducted to Australian Cricket Hall of Fame

Melbourne, Feb 2 : Former Australian fast-bowler Merv Hughes has been inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame. An integral part of Australian cricket's return to the top of the Test cricket rankings, Hughes' career spanned 53 Tests and 33 ODIs from 1985-94, taking 212 Test wickets at an average of 28.38. "Merv Hughes was an icon of the Australian summer for so many of us, a larger-than-life personality, a wonderful international cricketer, an ambassador for the sport and a deserved inductee into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame," Peter King, Australian Cricket Hall of Fame Chairman, said in a statement. "A lion-hearted competitor, Merv boasts a proud career for Victoria and Australia in the Test and One Day International arenas, paving the way for an incredible era of Australian cricketing dominance. Even as synonymous as his on-field record, Merv will be forever remembered as a fan-favourite and his iconic warm-ups close to the boundary, especially at the MCG, that prompted bays of spectators to join in with him at stadiums all over the country," he added. A Wisden Cricketer of the Year 1994, the 6'4" tall fast bowler also represented Victoria, Essex, and the ACT over a First-Class career spanning 14 seasons. "Merv Hughes is an Australian sporting legend who was one of the greatest bowlers to have played our national game," said Earl Eddings, Cricket Australia Chair. "He gave everything he had to try and help his team to win, coupled with his enthusiastic theatrics on the pitch and his love for the game he will always be warmly remembered as the big-hearted fast-bowler and larrikin who demolished batting line-ups all over the world," he added. The Australian Cricket Hall of Fame was first proposed by the Melbourne Cricket Club in 1995. The Hall of Fame was officially opened by the then Prime Minister John Howard MP in 1996. "Merv gave it everything he had on the field, from the first ball to the last. You certainly knew you were in a contest if you were playing against him and you had a teammate prepared to deliver an absolute 100 per cent effort if you had him on your side," said Greg Dyer, former teammate and Australian Cricketers' Association Chair. Previous Hall of Fame Inductees: 1996 - Fred Spofforth, John Blackham, Victor Trumper, Clarrie Grimmett, Bill Ponsford, Sir Donald Bradman, Bill O'Reilly, Keith Miller, Ray Lindwall and Dennis Lillee 2000 - Warwick Armstrong, Neil Harvey and Allan Border 2001 - Bill Woodfull and Arthur Morris 2002 - Stan McCabe and Greg Chappell 2003 - Lindsay Hassett and Ian Chappell 2004 - Hugh Trumble and Alan Davidson 2005 - Clem Hill and Rod Marsh 2006 - Monty Noble and Bob Simpson 2007 - Charles Macartney and Richie Benaud 2008 - George Giffen and Ian Healy 2009 - Steve Waugh 2010 - Bill Lawry and Graham McKenzie 2011 - Mark Taylor and Doug Walters 2012 - Shane Warne 2013 - Charlie Turner and Glenn McGrath 2014 - Mark Waugh and Belinda Clark 2015 - Adam Gilchrist and Jack Ryder 2016 - Jeff Thomson and Wally Grout 2017 - David Boon, Matthew Hayden and Betty Wilson 2018 - Norm O'Neill, Ricky Ponting and Karen Rolton 2019 - Cathryn Fitzpatrick, Dean Jones and Billy Murdoch 2020 - Sharon Tredrea and Craig McDermott /IANS


Gambhir returns to Kolkata Knight Riders as team mentor
Kolkata, Nov 22 : Gautam Gambhir, who led Kolkata Knight Riders to two IPL titles in 2012 and 2014, will return to the franchise as the team's mentor

LLC 2023 Urbanrisers Hyderabad beat Southern Superstars by 13 runs
Ranchi, Nov 22 : The collective bowling attack from Urban Risers Hyderabad managed to defend the meagre challenge of 157 by restricting Southern Super

Suresh Raina impressed with K.L Rahul, Mohd Shami s performances, Rohit s captaincy in World Cup
New Delhi, Nov 21 : India may have stumbled at the final hurdle, but the ICC Men's ODI World Cup was a great campaign for the two-time winners and the