Haryana Assembly congratulates 18 Asiad medal winners

DW BUREAU / Chandigarh

Haryana Vidhan Sabha on Monday congratulated all the 18 sportspersons from the state who have won medals in Asian Games at Jakarta in the ongoing monsoon session.

Sports and Youth Affairs Minister Anil Vij informed the House that sportspersons from India won total 69 medals in these games at Jakarta, including 15 Gold Medals, 24 Silver Medals and 30 Bronze Medals.

Out of these, Haryana won 6 Gold Medals, 5 Silver Medals and 7 Bronze Medals.

In these games, as solo player, Manjit Singh of Jind won gold medal in 800 meters and Neeraj Chopra of Panipat won gold medal in Javelin Throw. Similarly, Amit from Rohtak in Boxing and Bajrang Punia and Vinesh Phogat of Charkhi Dadri in wrestling won Gold Medals.

Mr Vij said Lakshay Sheoran of Jind, Sanjeev Rajput of Yamunanagar won silver medals in shooting. Similarly, Bronze Medal winners include Seema Punia of Sonipat in Women’s Discus Throw, Vikas Krishan of Bhiwani in Boxing, Dushyant from Jhajjar in rowing and Abhishek Verma of Panipat in shooting. Apart from this, 3 teams have won silver medals including teams of horse riding, women hockey and women’s kabaddi. Likewise, 3 men’s teams including kabaddi, hockey and rowing have won

bronze medals. / UNI /


Leave a Reply