Daily World Exclusive: Punjab Govt accepts PSERC ChairmanÔÇÖs resignation

DW Bureau / Chandigarh

The Punjab government has accepted the resignation of the Punjab State Electricity Regulatory Commission (PSERC) Chairman D S Bains. Bains will, however, continue in the post for the next three months to fulfil his notice period. Sources in the government informed that former IAS officer Kusumjit Sidhu is the front runner for the post Bains is vacating.

ÔÇ£We have accepted the resignation and the process has started to issue the advertisement for the selection of a new incumbent for the post,ÔÇØ a senior government officer informed Daily World ion Friday.

It may be recalled that PSERC Chairman Bains had resigned from his post. Bains had submitted his resignation to the State Government on Wednesday.

Bains, when contacted, said: ÔÇ£I have put in my papers for personal reasons and requested the Government to relieve me of the charge.ÔÇØ When asked about the status of pending power tariff order, the PSERC Chairman said that this is a call to be taken by the new dispensation according to its policies and programmes.

The Government, sources said, had already started the process to identify a suitable candidate for the post and the vacancy would be filled soon. The PSERC is an important body that monitors the day-to-day functioning of the State-owned power utilities and private power generators, besides fixing the annual power tariff. All disputes between private power generators and the state utilities are initially addressed to the PSERC, and later the appellate tribunal for power hears appeals even as the last resort for such disputes is the court of law.

A retired 1981-batch Punjab cadre IAS officer, Bains was appointed the Chairman of the Commission in February 2016. Earlier, he held the post of Chairperson of Punjab Infrastructure Regulatory Authority and also served as the Home Secretary of the State.

Within days of the Congress coming to power, the then Punjab State Power Corporation Ltd (PSPCL) Chairman, K D Chaudhary had resigned from his post. The Amarinder Government had later handed over the charge of the PSPCL Chairman to Principal Secretary (Power) A. Venu Prasad. Chaudhary served for several years as the head of the PSPCL during the previous SAD-BJP regime.

Leave a Reply