11 PRIs bring laurels to state, win national awards


The Union Rural Development Ministry has announced the Deendayal Upadhyay Panchayat Shastikaran Award and Nana Ji Deshmukh awards for the year 2017-18. These awards are given to the Panchayati Raj Institutions for good performance every year. The Pancahyati Raj Institutions of Punjab has brought laurels to the state by bagging 11 Awards.

The Rural Development Minister, Punjab Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa has congratulated the award winning institutes of the state. Bajwa said that these institutes would be role models for other panchayats

and motivate others to follow their path. The Panchayat Minister said that the Punjab Government would also give full support and honour panchayts doing good work.

The award winning institutes include 7 Gram Panchayats, 1 Gram Sabha, 2 Block Samities, 1 Zila Parishid. The winning Zila Parishid is awarded of 50 lac, Panchayat Samities 25 lac, Gram Sabha 10 lacs, Panchayats get 5 lac and get 3 lac additional for doing extra work.

The award winning institutes include Zila Parishid Faridkot, Panchayat Samiti Ropar and Rajpura which would be honoured with Deendayal Upadhyay Shastikaran Award. Likewise district Bathinda’+ char(39) +’s Block Phull panchayat of village Himmatpura, Mansa Block’+ char(39) +’s panchayat Burj Rathi, Majri Block’+ char(39) +’s panchayt Nangal Gharian, village Dobarji of district Ludhiana, village Haripur urf Roadmajra of district Ropar, village Khasan of district Kapurthala and village Chinna of district Gurdaspur would also get Deendayal Upadhyay Shastikaran award. Apart from this village Chinna of district Gurdaspur would be honoured with Nana Ji Deshmukh Rashtria Gaurav Gram Sabha Award.


Leave a Reply